









TELANGANA STATE BIODIVERSITY BOARD

Exchange Visit by the Chairmen and Secretaries (14 members) of selected BMCs of Telangana

From 11-02-2016 to 12-02-2016 At

Jhari BMC of Kerameri Mandal, Adilabad District, Telangana

Background

The NBA and Telangana State Biodiversity Board under UNEP-GEF-MoEF&CC-ABS project jointly conducted a comprehensive Exchange visits at Jhari BMC of Kerameri Mandal Mandal (Adilabad District) Telangana to the Chairmen and Secretaries (14 members) of selected BMCs of Telangana State for learning the best practices of conservation of biological resources, preparation of PBRs, ABS mechanism, and importance of local seed varieties along with the importance of seed registration etc.

Following are the major events carried out during the visits.

Visit to Jhari BMC

The team of Chairmen and Secretaries along with the TSBDB staff visited the Jhari BMC of Kerameri Mandal, Adilabad District.

The discussions were initiated on activities of BMC and the Members of BMC explained about the local seed varieties and their conservation. He also explained that the Machala Kandulu (*Pigeon pea*) and Balintha Pesarlu (*Vigna radiata*) got registered with PPVFRA, New Delhi. Mr.

Dastagir explained about the fish breeding, Breeding Pools, and artificial ponds etc. He also explained about the marketing of fishes to the local vendors.

The meeting was concluded by giving vote of thanks by the visitors.









The visit and interaction with BMC members of these villages have immensely benefited the visitors to gain knowledge on relevant issues.

The List of BMC Chairpersons and Secretaries visited:

S.No	Name of the	Designation	BMC Name	District	Cell
	Visitor				Number
1.	T. Ramana	Chairman	Chaluvai	Warangal	9441411073
2.	N. Sambaraju	Chairman	Gundrapalli	Warangal	7842656236
3.	U. Upender	Chairman	Narsimulagudem	Warangal	9989163729
4.	A. Ravi	Member (MPP)	Nandhipet	Nizamabad	9603171700
5.	Lingaiah	Chairman (MPP)	Manakondur	Karimnagar	9000619694
6.	M. Nagaraju	Member	Rayapatnam	Karimnagar	9866553979
7.	R.Gopal	Member	Polepally	Nalgonda	9948102500
8.	R. Shiva kumar	Member	Polepally	Nalgonda	9133491818
9.	Ramesh	Secretary	Chinna Chinthakunta	Mahaboobnagar	9848584935
10.	Venkatesh	Chairman	Pinnamcherla	Mahaboobnagar	9704372939
11.	Vijay	Secretary	Manneguda	Rangareddy	8008237781
12.	N. Krishna	Chairmen	Chintalpally	Rangareddy	9959573831
13.	R. Prasad Babu	Scientific/ Tech. Asst	TSBDB	Hyderabad	8886696407
14.	M. Vinod Kumar	DBC-Karimnagar	TSBDB	Hyderabad	8886696425